_MG_8134

Hi gorgeous ones,

I love pasta. LOVE it! It gets me thinking of the movie Eat Pray Love where Julia Roberts goes to Rome to eat. But not just to eat, also to eat without guilt. Ha! What a hard thing that is, eating without guilt. And how weird and twisted that food should be associated with such an awful feeling. Eating should be something pleasant and slowly I’m getting there. Slowly getting rid of all the shame, guilt, self loath and other nasty feelings thats not doing me any favors what so ever. I call it Radical Selflove 2016! ❤ Join me!

So, back to the pasta. Did I mention I love pasta? I love it in all forms – spaghetti, macaroni, lasagna, linguine, fettucine, orecchietti (another post about this one soon) You name it. I also love the raw versions but let us leave those out for today. Today I’m talking about the italian kind of pasta. Cooked to perfection – al dente – to the tooth.
I’m not saying that gluten is necessarily bad for you but I am not feeling my best when eating it so I have tried all kinds of gluten free pastas. Some of them pretty descent but still not good enough, they tend to turn out mushy. Until today. Today I tried a new kind of organic rice pasta which was incredible. Tasted like the real deal with the right texture and everything. Together with a sauce made of slow baked tomatoes, garlic, chili, basil, olive oil, salt and pepper it was heavenly.

So lets get to it, should we?
To create this sauce you need time. Its the easiest recipe ever but the tomatoes gets so much better if you roast them slowly on a low temperature.

For 2 portions you need:
7 big aromatic tomatoes
4 cloves garlic
1 chili
handful of fresh basil
2 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

300g pasta of choice

Put your oven on 300 degrees (f) Cut the tomatoes in halves or quarters. Roghly chop the garlic and chili. Put it all in a baking dish, tomatoes with skin downwards. drizzle over the olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Cook in the middle of the oven for approximately 4 hours.

 

_MG_8046

 

Cook the pasta after instructions.

Take out and let cool slightly before mixing. Set aside a few tomatoes as topping. Now scrape out all the goodies in the baking dish, you want all the flavors in your sauce. Mix smooth.

Drain the pasta and stir through the tomato sauce. Top with the remaining tomatoes, fresh basil and rawmesan.

Need the recipe for rawmesan?
Here it goes.
1/2 cup cashew nuts
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
salt to taste
Add all above in your blender and mixed until nuts are chopped and all is well combined. Sprinkle over pasta, salads, on pizza. Store in an airtight container in the fridge

 

ENJOY!

 

_MG_8145

 

