image

Hi friends,

Long time no see. Life is crazy busy now with the opening of Open New Doors 2.0 which is happening very soon. Hopefully early February, but there’s still a lot left to happen.
Anyway, this is one of my favorite granolas, alongside buckwheat. It’s not fully raw as I’m using regular gluten free oats instead of raw. I do this for two reasons, the price and the shelf life. Apart from being very difficult to find, raw oats are very expensive. They also go bad very quickly so I rather eat something containing a little less nutrients.

There is not such a thing as a precise recipe for this as I throw in whatever I can find in my cupboards. Seeds, nuts, mulberries, gojiberries, cacao nibs, coconut.. You name it. Spices can also vary. Cinnamon, cardamon, vanilla, orange zest.. Let that imagination of your run wild. I give you the recipe for my last batch (which my man loved btw, so it’s boyfriend/husband approved 😜)

Nutty Maca Granola

2 cups gluten free oats
1 cup desiccated coconut
2/3 cups mixed nuts (I used hazelnuts and almonds)
1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
1/2-1 cup mulberries
1/2 cup maple syrup
4 tbsp chia seeds
3tbsp maca (I used Organic Burst maca)
1-2 tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla powder
pinch of salt

1-1/2 cup water

Mix all the dried stuff first in a big bowl, then add the water and stir it together with a fork, make sure to work those spices into the oats. It is supposed to be crumbly and moist.
Spread the mixture evenly on parchment paper and dehydrate overnight (8-12h) at 40 degrees celsius.
If you don’t have a dehydrator a regular oven will work fine. Put it on the lowest temperature and leave the door slightly open. I don’t have any exact time if you use a oven but I’m guessing 4-6 hours, maybe a bit longer. The granola is supposed to be all dry and crispy and the mulberries are crunchy like honeycomb. Totally delicious.
Add this on your smoothies, yoghurt or eat it straight out of the jar like I do 😉
Also goes perfectly well with some plant based milk (I love hazelnut milk with it) and a load of berries. Yum!

Enjoy lovelies and have a great week!

