image

Since turning vegan 2 yrs ago there’s not much I’ve been missing to be honest. But I have missed creamy Greek yoghurt. No vegan yoghurt I’ve tried have been great and as I’m trying to eat mostly raw I thought I’d better try to create a rawghurt. And if you have the patience to leave it for 3-4 days in the fridge to mature it sets and gets more tart, just like Greek yoghurt.

Raw Cashew Yoghurt

3 cups of cashews (soaked overnight)
2-3 cups of filtered water
2 tbsp agave, maple syrup or other sweetener of choice
Pinch of vanilla
5 capsules of probiotics

Rinse the soaked cashews thoroughly. Add all in a high speed blender and mix until all smooth and silky. The consistency should be runny but not thin. Think melted ice cream. Pour in a VERY clean glass jar (I boil mine) and cover with a cloth and a rubber and to let it breath without anything getting in. Find a warm place and put it there for 20-28 hours. The longerย the more sour it will get. You will now have a almost crumble, “cheese” like mixture. Simply scrape it out from the jar into a bowl, add some filtered water until it reaches a consistency you like (it will set a bit more) and put in fridge for at least 10 hours, the longer you leave it the better it gets in my opinion but I like it quite tart. Best is if you try it day 1, day 2, day 3 and so on to find your best recipe. Good luck! โค๏ธ

