image

Hi Friends,
Busy times at Open New Doors right now which means blogging is kind of secondary at the moment. But I’ll be back soon πŸ˜‰
Yesterday I was flicking through the amazing cook book Raw & Simple by Judita Wignall and saw a pic of her scrumptious-looking cheesecake squares and decided to try something similar. Why not just make hers you might wonder, but truth is I’ve never been able to follow a recipe. Its not that I don’t think that the recipe is good enough. I’m sure it’s even better many times but I just can’t. I’m always adding or omitting and doing it my way. Maybe that’s just who I am, a girl who goes her own way.
Anyway, this isn’t about me, this is about a extraordinary delicious dessert that happened yesterday. It’s so good that I’ve had two pieces of it already today and probably I’ll have another before this day ends😜

Blueberry & Lime Cheesecake Pie

Base:
2 cups pecan nuts
1 cup white dried mulberries
3-4 pitted dates (I used Deglet nour)
Pinch of pink salt

First mix the mulberries and dates until finely chopped, add the pecans and salt and pulse until crumbly.
Press into a square pan (20x30cm) lined with a baking sheet and put in the freezer to set.

Filling:
1 cup soaked cashews
1 cup of meat from young coconuts
OR
2 cups soaked cashews

Juice from 3 limes
Zest from 1 lime
Teaspoon of vanilla
1/2 cup coconut oil (melted)
1/3 cup Agave or sweetener of choice
Water (this is hard to say how much as it depends in the nuts. I used about 1/2 a cup)
1 cup fresh blueberries

Mix all except the blueberries in your blender, adding the water a little at a time until smooth and creamy. This might take some time, so be patient. And be careful not to overheat the filling or the blender. Pour the mixture over your base, spread evenly and cover with the blueberries. Put back in freezer while doing the cookie dough-like crumble.

Crumble:
1/2 cup pecans
1 cup juicy medjool dates (soak them if they’re dry)
Pinch of pink salt
1 cup raw oats

First mix the dates till a paste, add the nuts and salt and mix until nuts are completely chopped, take aside in a bowl and add the oats. Combine well and add more oats if it’s to sticky. It should be crumbly. Crumble over your cake and freeze for two hours. Take out 30 minutes before serving. Any leftovers you can keep in the fridge for a few days, but trust me, it won’t last that long!

Enjoy!
And if you make this and have an Instagram account, please tag me @loveliveraw so I can see your creations. It’s truly heartwarming and kind of mind blowing to see you remaking my recipes.
Much Love❀️

