IMG_4822

Hello friends!
Hope you had a great start of the week. I actually really like mondays, maybe because it used to be one of my days off. I’ve never had a 9-5 job. After graduating school I was working as a nurse, which means long shifts, weekends and bank holidays. Then, due to travelling, I got into food and beverage which meant even longer shifts and working every weekend. So mondays have always been my “saturdays” πŸ™‚

Today I craved carrot juice and as I love to find a use for leftover pulp this is what happened:

Tangy Carrot Juice

6 medium sized carrots
1 ruby grapefruit
1 blood orange
2 apples
1/2 lemon
2 inches of ginger

Wash the fruit (peel all of it if its not organic) and cut in halves. I peel the citruses using a knife to make sure to leave some of the healthy white “stuff”. It is slightly bitter but the carrots and apples balances it out.
Juice the carrots first and take aside the pulp if using it for the “Carrot Cake Bites”. Juice the rest and enjoy with a few ice cubes.
SO refreshing!

Carrot Cake Bites
makes 20

Pulp from 6 juiced carrots
8 dates
1 cup walnuts
1 cup shredded coconut
1/4 cup coconut sugar
2 tbsp hemp hearts (optional)
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla

Add all to your blender/food processor and mix until you have a smooth dough using a tamper.
Form into balls and roll in shredded coconut.
Put in the fridge for a few hours.
If you want some crunch you can add some roughly chopped nuts to the dough.
Enjoy!

